Search
Close this search box.

Browse by category

Far From The Tree by Robin Benway

£7.99

Availability: 1 in stock

SKU 9781471164330 Categories ,

WINNER OF THE U.S. NATIONAL BOOK AWARD 2017 FOR YOUNG PEOPLE’S LITERATURE!

‘ When 16 year-old Grace gives up her baby for adoption, she decides that the time has come to find out more about her own biological mother.

Although her biological mum proves elusive, her search leads her to two half-siblings she never knew existed.

Maya, 15, has been adopted by wealthy parents and seems to have the picture-perfect family – that is, if you look past her alcoholic mother and the fact that Maya stands out like a sore thumb.

Older brother Joaquin hasn’t been so lucky. At 18, he’s shuffled between foster home after foster home, always careful never to get attached to anyone or anything, because it always gets taken away. When these three siblings come together, they find in themselves the place they can belong. While the secrets they guard threaten to explode. For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Nicola Yoon, Far From the Tree is a raw, compelling, and ultimately uplifting story of what it means to be family.

‘Benway’s unforgettable novel explores the paradoxes and entanglements of unconventional families … It’s a melodrama, to be sure, but with as much brain as heart. Benway writes with remarkable control and has the rare talent of almost vanishing as an author as she inhabits each character’s perspective.’ The New York Times’Family issues are neither airbrushed nor oversimplified…

Funny, heartbreaking, and true. Robin Benway has written characters I felt like I’d known forever, and was so sad to see go. A must-read.’ Morgan Matson, author of Since You’ve Been Gone

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.